Breaking Down Louis Murphys Non-Catch

Posted: 16th September 2009 by Ramone Brown in NFL
Comments Off on Breaking Down Louis Murphys Non-Catch
There is alot of debate on whether or not Louis Murphys "catch" towards the end of the first half monday night against the Chargers was rightfully over-turned. Me myself after reading numerous opinions on the play am unsure. But heres by best attempt at being unbiased in a break-down of the play. First heres the rule and refferee Carl Cheffars explanation: Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that “if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone.

"If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he reg ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article written by

Comments are closed.