Wildness After All These Years

Posted: 16th September 2009 by Ryne E. Hancock in MLB
Comments Off on Wildness After All These Years
In my generation, the last true pennant race was 1993, when the Braves and Giants were clawing for the NLWest, only to see the Giants with their 103 wins miss out on the postseason. The next year, Bud Selig decides to give more teams a chance to head to the postseason by implementing the Wild Card, which would be the best team in the National League or American League that didn't win their division. Since that implemention, baseball in the last decade-and-a-half saw a lot of thrilling pennant races. Here's five of the best in the National League since the Wild Card came into play: 2008 (Milwaukee Brewers and New York Mets) The New York Mets, who lost the NLEast in 2007 on the final day of the season to the Phillies were in a virtual tie with the Milwaukee Brewers on the final day of the se ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - MLB
Article written by

Comments are closed.