The Atanta Braves Won 16 Championships, but Only One Counts

Posted: 2nd January 2010 by Harold Friend in MLB
Comments Off
Joseph Abstein was a Boston fan until his team moved to Milwaukee in 1953. Joe still roots for the Braves, but he has a perspective on championships that most modern fans may never understand.

Lew Burdette Beat the Yankees

After the Braves moved to Milwaukee in 1953, I lost a little interest in the team, but only because it was so difficult to follow their daily fortunes. When the Braves won the pennant in 1957, I managed to get to Yankee Stadium to see the seventh game of the World Series. Lew Burdette, whom the Yankees had sent to the Braves for Johnny Sain in 1951, shut them out, 5-0. It was the third time that Burdette beat them in that Series.

A Pennant-Winning Failure

The Yankees, the New York baseball writers, and especially Yankees' fans, ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - MLB
Article written by Harold Friend

Comments are closed.