Is the Gold Glove Given to the Best Defensive Players in MLB?

Posted: 12th November 2009 by Cliff Eastham in MLB
Comments Off
What is a Gold Glove exactly? It is an award created in 1957 by Rawlings (the most popular baseball glove maker at the time) to show defensive excellence at each of the nine positions. It began, like the Cy Young Award, with only one winner at each position in MLB. In 1958 it was changed to include one for the American League and one for the National League. A perusal of a list of all the winners fosters the opinion that, like many awards, it tends to honor the same players in a succession of seasons. For example, Brooks Robinson , Hall of Fame third baseman, won the award a record 16 consecutive times. Jim "Kitty Kat" Kaat (who should be in the Hall of Fame), is next in line with 14 in a row and 16 total. Pitcher Greg Maddux won 13 consecutive awards, and if not for an interruption by Mik ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - MLB
Article written by Cliff Eastham

Comments are closed.