Two Years Running: Lincecum Wins Cy Young Second Year In a Row

Posted: 28th November 2009 by Nick Tyson in MLB
Comments Off
And the 2009 Cy Young Award goes to...Tim Lincecum. For the second year in a row Tim "The Freak" Lincecum, took home the hardware, earning the Cy Young Award for the National League, given to the finest pitcher in the league. But was Lincecum truly deserving of the award in 2009? In '08 he seemed the most dominant pitcher far and away and rightfully so he was voted the award winner. This year, Cardinal pitchers Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright had good arguments in favor of, well, themselves.  The most obvious starting point in looking at a pitcher's success is his Earned Run Average (ERA), and his total number of wins. Comparing the three pitchers in these two categories looks like this: Chris Carpenter 17-4, 2.24 Adam Wainwright 19-8, 2.63 Tim Lincecum 15-7, 2.48 In terms of the ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - MLB
Article written by Nick Tyson

Comments are closed.