Joe Mauer Wins American League MVP

Posted: 23rd November 2009 by Jeremiah Graves in MLB
Comments Off
Joe Mauer can now add American League Most Valuable Player to his already imposing resume. Mauer received 27 out of 28 first-place votes to runaway with the award. Detroit Tigers first baseman Miguel Cabrera received the other first-place vote but the first baseman finished fourth overall. Mark Teixeira and Derek Jeter of the New York Yankees finished second and third, respectively. Mauer finished with 327 total points, well ahead of Teixeira, 225, and Jeter, 193. Despite garner the other first-place vote, Cabrera, finished a distance fourth with 171 points. Mauer becomes just the second catcher in the past 33 years to win the MVP. Ivan Rodriguez of the Texas Rangers won the award in 1999 and prior to that the last AL catcher to win the award was Yankees legend, Thurman Munson in 1976. Mau ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - MLB
Article written by Jeremiah Graves

Comments are closed.