Joe Mauer Wins American League Most Valuable Player in Landslide

Posted: 23rd November 2009 by Dan Wade in MLB
Comments Off
For years, the BBWAA picks for the Cy Young Awards and MVP were the subject of incredible scorn, especially among the sabermetric community. The 2005 AL Cy Young, for example, saw Bartolo Colon, armed with a 21-8 record, beat Johan Santana despite being subordinate to him in every category besides winsùthree wins worse according to Baseball ProspectusÆ Wins Above Replacement Player. Every team has their example, every year seems to bring new controversy, but 2009 seems to have been a big step in the right direction. Zack Greinke netted the AL Cy Young, despite winning just 16 games, the lowest win totals for a Cy Young winner since 1994. There was some controversy over the NL award, but that was a choice among three deserving candidates, someone had to lose. The BBWAAÆs strong ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - MLB
Article written by Dan Wade

Comments are closed.